Welcome to the Travel Forum. Community Board To Help Tourists in Tourism.
  • Login:
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 32
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    10

    What is great about Germany in your opinion?

    Hey everybody!
    I have been to Germany for a few times already now and personally I enjoy the mentality of the Germans! (And I love their beer.) If you have traveled to Germany, what do you like in particular about it? If not, then what would you expect from the Germans?
    Really interested in your opinions

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    5
    FlipFlop where in Germany did you travel? I am interested in Frankfurt but only from hearsay from a friend. I am actually enlisted in the navy and one of my Job choices requires me to ship to various countries including Germany. Are there any hot spots or attractions that you would recommend? How are the women over there? I know they will have good bratwurst! Ha Ha.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    10
    I've been to Bavaria a few times but have mostly traveled in Northrhine Westphalia. I've spent a lot of time in Cologne and can recommend that city! It's definitely worthwhile checking out the Cologne Cathedral but they also have several clubs there (Loom Club, Crystal Club) if your into that. I don't know an awful lot about Frankfurt except for the airport so I can't really tell you much there. >.<
    The women aren't really that different and should generally be just as fun!

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    46

    Some Cool Facts About Germany

    I really liked the liberal attitude over there - there were sex shops everywhere in Cologne! Okay, I promise the sex shops are not the reason I liked Germany, but I liked how everyone seemed very open-minded and friendly. I went out almost every night and all the Germans I met in bars and the beer halls were all really keen to chat to me - there wasn't much of an "I don't know you, so I'll stay away" mentality.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    20

    Re: What is great about Germany in your opinion?

    I loved the beer too! I went to this small pub where they were making their own beer aand you could watch the whole process from your table! It was also very cheap. I also loved the people, they were so warm and kind. The food was great and they really wanted to make sure you had enough ) The architecture is breath taking, I especially loved the churches, they just breathe history.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    2

    Interesting Facts About Germany

    I found the country to be incredibly clean, at least in Frankfurt where I was staying. The city was also not very crowded which was great, although this is probably because I went during a down-period in March. People were very friendly, and there were more side-street cafes than I was expecting, which was very nice. I'd recommend going with a tour guide though, our guide was very knowledgeable and pointed out many neat things in Frankfurt that I would've never found alone.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    231

    Re: Interesting Facts About Germany

    The people, the beer and the organization!

    The people are friendly, not shy at all and most of them speak excellent English. The beer... well it's German beer, I don't think I need to say anything else. And everything is so simple and organized, it's really easy to find your way around. They strive for practical and efficient solutions for everything, it's truly a pleasure to see how well it works compared to some of the more 'complicated' countries like France or Italy.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    46

    Why Germany Is Such A Great Country

    I'd completely forgotten to mention the beer actually - others have reminded me now! Put it this way: when I went to Cologne last month, I decided that, although not being a beer fan at all, I may as well give it a go because, y'know, when in Germany (not to mention the fact that the beer hall we went to first had this system where there brought out massive rounds of beer automatically and you had to put your beer mat on top of your glass to signal that you didn't want any, so it was quite difficult to evade your first round if you didn't know about the system!). After drinking far too much Kolsch...I am now converted and have started drinking beer now I am back home. That's what the beer does to you!

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    231

    Re: What is great about Germany in your opinion?

    I went to Cologne a couple of years ago. The local beer was one of the best I've ever had so I can totally understand how it turned you into drinking beer!
    And yes it's a funny custom about the beer mats. I went to a local place, ordered and when we were finished, before I knew what was happening, there was this German guy shouting at me in German and suddenly my glass was full again.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    7

    Germany Is Beautiful And People Are Smart

    I am more of a nature person than cities, so I was really impressed with the Alps and it's lakes. I was surprised with how fast the Germans go hiking, they seem like super fast robots, they don't simply walk like they were giving a walk, they are really fast!

    I was also well impressed by the police, I had to address them a couple of times and they have a good posture, they understand they are rendering a service to the population, not like in my country where it seems they are doing us a favor.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Jamaica
    Posts
    77

    Re: Germany Is Beautiful And People Are Smart

    I would like to visit Germany one day. I've heard many great things about that country. I've heard that Germans are very efficient. There's also transportation to go anywhere and it's timely. The people are also quite friendly. I've also heard that the cities are very clean. I would love to visit there some time.

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    69

    Re: What is great about Germany in your opinion?

    The good food, the great beer and nice people. Most metropolitan area's in German are very nice, clean and technologically advanced. You'll see a lot of fascinating architecture, a lot of the music and arts as well. I particularly enjoy the metal music in Germany, they have a yearly metal festival called Wacken Open Air, which attracts hundreds of thousand of people from all over the world. Really nice country.

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    86

    Re: What is great about Germany in your opinion?

    Food is awesome and expertly made. The same can be said for beer. There is a lot of history and a wealth of culture. Everything is Arizona levels of clean. And folks are real orderly. That said... my thing was of course the Autobahn. No speed limits man - no speed limits. We ain't never going to be responsible enough here in the US for that sort of thing.

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    39

    Re: What is great about Germany in your opinion?

    I would go for the Alps as well. Good skiing to be had there.

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    75

    Re: What is great about Germany in your opinion?

    I been to Germany and I can say that I like the place. Many beautiful places can be seen. The people are friendly, although some of them can't speak English. Sometimes it is hard to ask directions if you are a tourist. I also like the food. Mostly it is made of pork and their sausages are great.

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    42

    Re: What is great about Germany in your opinion?

    I haven't been there yet, but I have been studying German (language) and German culture. that is enough to make me want to visit the place. I hear that Germans make the best hotdogs because their sausages are to die for! And they even have a city named after the hamburger!

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    691
    I have never been to Germany, and I'm not sure I'll ever visit that place. I've heard wonderful things, but I don't think this place is my cup of tea. I've heard they open a christmas market every year, that made me feel curious :P I might go to see just that, because I love seeing christmas decorations. I'm not a christian nor do I celebrate this holiday, but I really appreciate some good christmas decorations when I see them My boyfriend has been to this Germany, he thinks people and culture over there is great. That kind of comments made me curious actually, I'd really like to see what is like over there. I might one day!

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    33

    Re: What is great about Germany in your opinion?

    I visited Frankfurt and was impressed by the city. I found it fascinating that there are distinct lines between the ancient city and the modern city. So much of the city was damaged during World War II that when it was rebuilt they preserved what was left. They have modern skyscrapers and then a few blocks away ancient buildings. I found this to be fascinating and really enjoyed the contrast.

  19. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    29

    Re: What is great about Germany in your opinion?

    Interesting thread as there are lots of things I like about Germany.

    I love the beer as they are experts in brewing beer and are proud of that fact in the way they have these big pint glasses they fill in pubs, I also enjoy the food in Germany, you can't beat a spicy seasoned bratwurst sausage to go with the aforementioned beer but their meat dishes are interesting to enjoy.

    I also find their transport system amazing, especially the trains as 2nd class to them is 1st class here in the UK and they have specials like Cologne to London for 50 Euros if I recall by train, the Christmas markets are beautiful to the eye amongst the gothic buildings and the people are friendly too (even if you don't know much German) I also find the Black Forest is amazing to see and has to visited at least once.
    Germany has a whole is an amazing country to visit and has to be seen to be believed.

  20. #20
    Eva
    Eva is offline
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    28

    Re: What is great about Germany in your opinion?

    I was born in Germany, but I was forced to move to America around 2001. I am very much biased in my love for Germany, of course. I love the people, the food, the beer, and the wonderful nature and forests. The climate suits me better, and I am just more comfortable there. I especially miss all of the options for public transportation. When I am in Germany, I do not have a real need for a car. I can take wonderful walks, buy food from street vendors, and listen to street musicians. Everything is so wonderfully close together! I hope I can move back someday.

  21. #21
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    32
    Quote Originally Posted by FlipFlop View Post
    Hey everybody!
    I have been to Germany for a few times already now and personally I enjoy the mentality of the Germans! (And I love their beer.) If you have traveled to Germany, what do you like in particular about it? If not, then what would you expect from the Germans?
    Really interested in your opinions
    Good thing that you pointed out two important things, "German mentality" and "beer". These two factors are really one of the great things about Germans. Here are some additional great things about Germany; bread, wine, sausages, local foods, forests and the multi culti cities. :-)

  22. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    691
    Quote Originally Posted by Eva View Post
    I was born in Germany, but I was forced to move to America around 2001. I am very much biased in my love for Germany, of course. I love the people, the food, the beer, and the wonderful nature and forests. The climate suits me better, and I am just more comfortable there. I especially miss all of the options for public transportation. When I am in Germany, I do not have a real need for a car. I can take wonderful walks, buy food from street vendors, and listen to street musicians. Everything is so wonderfully close together! I hope I can move back someday.
    I hear ya on that one!! Ever since I moved to Mexico I started to see how necessary having a car over here is!!! A car over here is a must, and that's why I had to buy one, but when I was in Europe (Norway) I could get anywhere thanks to their amazingly efficient public transport. I come here and I find myself with really old buses that show up whenever they feel like it!

  23. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    691
    Quote Originally Posted by cefmac View Post
    I really liked the liberal attitude over there - there were sex shops everywhere in Cologne! Okay, I promise the sex shops are not the reason I liked Germany, but I liked how everyone seemed very open-minded and friendly. I went out almost every night and all the Germans I met in bars and the beer halls were all really keen to chat to me - there wasn't much of an "I don't know you, so I'll stay away" mentality.
    That's awesome!! In norway people seemed less open and social, but it seems germans are all the opposite! I'll definitely be visiting this place in the future I love places where people are open and friendly! I never thought germans were like that to be honest. I thought they were more reserved.

  24. #24
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    82
    I love the whole country, but my favorite city is Berlin.

    I feel this is a city of contrasts, not just because part of it was under the communist regime for long years, but also because the city has so many landmarks that speak about Imperial Germany and those glorious days of the late 19th century and early 20th.

    First time I was to Germany was after an online German friend invited me to visit. I could not have better city guide

  25. #25
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    20

    Re: What is great about Germany in your opinion?

    I've never been to Berlin but my parents have long time ago, before the wall fell. They say it's a wonderful city and I hope to visit one day. One of my friends recently moved to Germany somewhere north and I will let him accommodate for a few months before I announce my visit )

 

 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Other Tourist Destinations Except Great Wall
    By strata12123 in forum China
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-05-2019, 09:09 AM
  2. Shopping in Germany
    By discount_coupons in forum Germany
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-21-2017, 10:20 AM
  3. The Crayola Experience is great for kids
    By dconklin in forum United States of America
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-22-2015, 07:21 PM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-13-2013, 03:01 PM
  5. Day Trip to Great Wall of China
    By sailthelizard in forum China
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-19-2013, 08:08 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58