Welcome to the Travel Forum. Community Board To Help Tourists in Tourism.
  • Login:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1

    USA Rail Pass Review

    We will be visiting United States of America in summer in a group of 5 people. Some body please review USA rail pass for me if there is one available at discounted price specially for groups. I live in Europe and i really love to travel by rail when ever i have to go and travel between countries. I enjoy rail so much that i am thinking that our whole group should be visiting USA on Amtrack rail pass.

    We are specifically looking for a USA rail pass with which we can travel unlimited between major US cities. Also tell me is it a good idea to travel on train in US and what about the frequency of rail service in USA. What rail pass would be best suitable for US as we just have 15 days and we want to visit as much cities in USA as we can possibly. Please review rail pass USA for us and kindly tell me what are the options for us and if there is any other points to remember.
    Last edited by faceofearth; 02-04-2013 at 03:29 AM.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    6
    I am afraid to say but the Amtrack in USA is too expensive and you would save a lot if you rent a car and share because sharing fuel amongst 5 people will make the fuels cost very low per head.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    18

    Amtrak Rail Pass

    Great-wall is right in saying that train in USA too expensive to travel. The car companies monopoly is too strong and they lobby too much that is the reason the rail system in USA is not good as it should be like.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    5

    Re: USA Rail Pass Review

    This is really disappointing to hear. I've always been intrigued by some of the rail tours available in the US, but they do seem very expensive. It's too bad that there isn't something more reasonably priced. There is so much to see out west. I think it would make a great family trip if it were more affordable.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    8

    European vs. American Rail

    The USA has nothing that is even comparable to Europe's rail system. Amtrak is a joke, it's slow and expensive, you would come off better riding the bus or taking a plan. Depending what areas you are visiting there are buses that will cheaply take you to different areas. I live in Georgia and there is a company called megabus that will take you to Florida, new orleans, and a couple of other places for about $40 round trip. America is suppose to be planning for high speed rail one day in the future but that seems a long way off.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    86

    Re: USA Rail Pass Review

    There is nothing in America similar to the rail systems in Europe or Japan. You'd do better to either rent a car or charter a bus. I'm not sure why exactly America doesn't care about a comprehensive rail system, but then again between state rights and how large America is I probably shouldn't be too surprised.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    7

    Rail In USA Too Expensive And Costly

    I agree. I love to travel be train and find it discouraging that traveling by train is not cheaper. It is a great way to see the country. I trained by train with a friend of mine from Minneapolis/St. Paul to New York City and it was great. A chance to relax and enjoy the scenery or catch up on journaling. The downside was that the 2 train tickets cost almost as much as 5 nights in the hotel.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    231

    Re: USA Rail Pass Review

    Just drive! USA is made for driving and seeing as you come from Europe you will love the gas prices!
    It will obviously take longer but this way you can also stop in unexpected places and you're not limited to visiting big cities.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    185

    Re: USA Rail Pass Review

    USA railways are quite very expensive as compare to other railway services like Europe but the journey have so many scenery to catch up in the way.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    531

    Re: USA Rail Pass Review

    It is an important thing when we talk of tourism in a manner where the maximum exists and if we see sources like bus tour from new york helps us generally which is reasonable.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Japan Rail Pass
    By Ohyesuare in forum Japan
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-29-2017, 07:01 AM
  2. Anybody Visited the Grand Canyon? Review Please
    By dconklin in forum United States of America
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 07-29-2017, 06:32 AM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-04-2013, 06:25 AM
  4. Paris Metro Weekly Pass – Navigo Découverte
    By Keith Watson in forum France
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-14-2013, 12:28 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58